How to install Bootcamp via USB

Reaction score
I have the capability to download a copy of windows because I'm a student but I don't know how to format a usb drive so that I can use it to install windows. Can someone help me out? (It's a 4GB usb which as I understand is large enough but if it's not large enough for Windows 7 professional with service pack 1 could someone let me know)

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
The Boot Camp package requires a disc, it will not install from a flash drive, although I do believe you could probably work around that.

Regardless, in other cases I've read about where a school provides a copy of a downloadable edition of Windows 7, it's typically provided as an ISO, that is burnt to a disc. Have you actually received the software yet?

The last time I installed Windows 7 via a Flash drive, it required an 8GB drive. So, I'm not sure your 4GB drive is going to cut it.

OP
P
Reaction score
I have the option to pay $23 for a disk version that would be shipped to me or I could download it and not have to pay anything.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
I have the option to pay $23 for a disk version that would be shipped to me or I could download it and not have to pay anything.

It's really hard to give you direction without knowing what format the file is in. I would say go ahead and download it and let us know what you end up with. Worst case scenario is, you might need to copy it over to a Windows machine and either burn the disc or prep the flash drive from there.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" MacBook Pro i5 / 4GB / 250GB