Mac air or pro

Reaction score
Hi I recently posted that I was goin to buy a MacBook pro. I want to switch from windows and I guess I don't know if I want Mac air 11 inch or MacBook pro 13 inch. I'm a sophomore in high school and I am replacing a hp laptop. I usually use laptops for Internet, some music and video stuff and I play farm simulator which is available on Mac store. I'm on a tight budget and I don't know which model to get. This would be my primary computer and I may want it for collage so a long lifespan is needed. Any suggestions?? Mac pro or air? I guess I'm not sure if mac pro is to much?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro (2019) 3.3 ghz 12-Core 96GB mem Vega Pro II
My personal preference would be a macPro. The inclusion of a dvd player makes it more flexible in my mind. Plus, over the long term, the hard drive is user replaceable. Drive storage space is more adequate and affordable with a hard drive.

C

chas_m

I agree with Bob_Stan, but of course the Air is sooooo light and fast and cool and stuff. Makes it a tougher decision than it should be.

OP
H
Reaction score
Thanks

Thank you for the feedback, but I'm not sure if the Mac pro is a tad overkill for me, I'm on a tight budget and all I do is web surf, watch YouTube, and some times I would use it for uploading to my YouTube account. I don't know but is Mac air all I need?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro (2019) 3.3 ghz 12-Core 96GB mem Vega Pro II
Only you can decide that. While college is down the road for you, just remember that it is unlikely that a computer bought today would have all the features you would need/want in 5 years (your senior year in college), no matter what it was.

In college you might find a need to run some windows programs and the additional drive space in a macPro would enable you to dual boot or run a program like Parallels to run Windows software. For your needs as you describe them today, the mac Air would certainly be adequate.

OP
H
Reaction score