Looking for some software

E

evoleno

HI

I am new to mac and want to know what is the best software i can get( hopefully free); for typing (like word) and looking at pictures (nothing special just like the picture veiwer on XP).

I have a PowerBook G3 with OS X 10.1

Thanx for your help!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iBook 12" G4, 30 GB, 768 MB RAM. iPod 5G 30GB.
well there is neoofficej
http://www.planamesa.com/neojava/en/index.php
for creating text documents, and it can save into word files.

for viewing pictures, mac already comes with a program like that, its calle preview, just double click a picture file.

OP
E

evoleno

iWonder said:
well there is neoofficej
http://www.planamesa.com/neojava/en/index.php
for creating text documents, and it can save into word files.

for viewing pictures, mac already comes with a program like that, its calle preview, just double click a picture file.

thanx

the reason i dont like the picture preview is the you can only see one pic at a time. meaning you cant scroll though them after opening them like in XP.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
you could always select all the photos by Apple + A and opening them. then in the drawer would be all the files

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
have you givin thought to TextEdit? Also, isnt AppleWorks with all macs? its a word processor too!

OP
E

evoleno

text edit looks like a pc Notepad.

AppleWorks, ill try that. Whre can i get it?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
it should be in your applications folder in a folder named... er.. appleworks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
12" Apple PowerBook G4 (1.5GHz)
evoleno said:
HI

I am new to mac and want to know what is the best software i can get( hopefully free); for typing (like word) and looking at pictures (nothing special just like the picture veiwer on XP).

I have a PowerBook G3 with OS X 10.1

Thanx for your help!