Where can I buy a used Mac mini?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
1.83 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 1 GiB RAM, 80 GiB hard drive, Intel GMA 950, SuperDrive
Hello, MacForums! :)

As you can see from my signature, I have an iPad 2, which has replaced a lot of my laptop usage. My school sent me an HP ProBook, and I absolutely despise it, but there are just some things for which I still need a "real" computer, like:

• Downloading, converting and streaming video (with Air Video)
  • Photo editing
  • Some web browsing
  • Light gaming
  • Syncing my iDevices

So I'm sending my ProBook back sometime in the next few months, and have been looking for a Mac to replace it. Since I'm a student and on a very tight budget, a Mac mini is the natural choice. I've got some old Windows hardware (monitors and things) lying around, but primarily my plan is to install LogMeIn or Splashtop, keep it in my cabinet, and just remote in with my iPad to do those tasks. Where can I find one - preferably an Intel/Lion compatible model - for around $200?

Thanks so much, and if there's a better option, please let me know!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3
Welcome to the forum.
Not sure where you live, but there is always CraigsList, Ebay and they are not $200 but the Apple Refurb store always has good discounts to keep a eye out for.

Cheers

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB
I don't trust ebay or craiglist. I would buy from the refurbished Apple store.

They have 1 year warranty on them and you can purchase Apple care for it too, as if it was a new machine.

Probably not going to that kind of guarantee with another seller.

OP
mknightretke
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
1.83 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 1 GiB RAM, 80 GiB hard drive, Intel GMA 950, SuperDrive