Recommendation for a More Powerful Mac Email App?

Reaction score
I am looking at moving my personal computing to the Mac environment and am looking for feedback/recommendations on a better (powerful/flexible) email app.

My main use will be communicating with a local cycling group which consists of about 2,600 local riders from 30 teams training for our annual MS150 ride. Since there are a lot of riders from a lot of teams plus I need to send notes to specific sub-groups of riders, volunteers, ride marshals, medics, etc, I am looking for an app which offers very flexible filtering, grouping, displaying and printing based on one or multiple fields in the contact records.

I have been using Outlook on a PC for many years because it has this flexibility built in so I installed Office 2011 w/ Outlook 2011 for the Mac and have imported the contacts from the 2011 group into the Outlook contact database. I also imported the data into the Apple address book. Both of these applications appear to be designed to be very simple to use and don't offer me the ability to set up many views based on dynamic filters the way Outlook for the PC works. I was really hoping that Outlook for the Mac would offer the same functionality that the PC version offers but it is much simpler - good for many users but not for my needs.

Has anyone used a Mac eMail client which offers the ability to set up multiple filtered views of the contact list and set up print specs, etc for certain views?

PS - To import to the Apple address book, I had to export the Outlook records to vCards, forward in an email, save (per the Apple help instructions) and import. Ever since I did this, the Apple Mail client crashes as soon as I open it. I have an appt w/ a OneToOne person at my local Apple Store tomomrrow but wonder if anyone else has experienced this?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey