total newbie - where to store folders

Reaction score
I just got a new macbook pro. I have been installing things and getting data gathered from my windows machine to transfer over. On my windows machines I have always just created directories on the hard drive in the main root c: for my documents. For example I had folders named word docs, excel docs, pictures, movies, etc. I am the only one that ever uses my computer and I never really used the "my documents" folder or its sub folders.

Everything is copying to a USB drive and I am looking to put it on the mac and I am wondering what the best strategy might be. Should I put these folders under the "macintosh hd" root location or would it be better to put them in my users folder along with the desktop,documents, downloads,etc folders that are already there?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
17" MBP C2D 2.8 4GB OS X 10.8 | iPhone 5
I would say since nobody else uses your computer, you can put them wherever you want and wherever you will think to go to to find them. You can put them on your desktop or in the Users folder or even just in the Macintosh HD with all of the other main folders. Putting these folders you want to create in the Users folder would be my recommendation just because personal documents and other items are usually found in the Users\UserName\Folder directory. Like I said, if you're not worried about someone using your computer and needing to find certain files, you can create the folders wherever is more convenient for you.

- ImageX

C

chas_m

You CAN put them on your desktop, but you REALLY SHOULDN'T. Problems will eventually result.

The *proper* place to put folders you create would be in your Home folder, either in one of the categories already created (such as "Documents") or in categories of your own making.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini (Late 2014) 2.6GHz Intel Core i5 Memory: 8GB 1600MHz DDR3