Need advice

Reaction score
Ok so I am a high school student in Austin Tx, and I am currently a developer for the windows phone 7 platform and have released 2 apps and plan on publishing my current project in the near future. I have also started a club at school called the Mobile Application Development club and,well, we make apps.

I have one problem though personally and with the club, I want to start creating iOS apps for me and the club but that requires a Mac and I only have Dell latitude and my school doesn't own any macs. So my question is what do you all (y'all) think the best approach would be for asking for a sponsor?

In my opinion, I think the best way would be to mail companies in my area asking them to donate $1500 that way I could buy a 13" mbp, a developer account and some books to help transition from c# and silverlight to objective c for the iOS. In return for the donation I would put their logo at the startup in the apps and in-between levels.

If anybody has had experience or has suggestions for this field please feel free for suggestions.

I am really trying to get into Stanford and really need this to set me apart from everybody else.

Thanks for your input

--cray

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3
Hi and welcome to the forum.
Well it sounds like you have your head screwed on right and you no where you want to go.
If your looking for sponsors what you suggested could well work in your favour, but in this day and age with the way the world is with its money, you will need something that stands out above and beyond your competitors.
Now remembering there are 400 000 odd Apps in the iTunes store, for a company to take notice and hand over 1500 they need to know there investment will be a secure one, which in turn needs something to stand out.