Thoughts on used MacBook

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini, Mid 2012 MacBook Pro
I'm a long-time Windows developer and have never used a Mac. I have interest in buying a Mac for development purposes. I found an older 15" MacBook pro for $450. It has an Intel 2.2GHz Core Duo processor and 2GB RAM. Both of my Windows machines have 2nd gen i7s and 8GB RAM, so I know the performance won't be near the same; however, I'm looking for advice on whether the used MacBook's specs would be adequate to get an accurate indication of what it's like to develop on and for a Mac. Will it suffice or will I be incredibly frustrated by the performance?

If I enjoy it, I'd likely purchase a new (or newer) one, but am reluctant to invest in a new one until I can feel it out.

Thanks.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
The performance should be fine. The only concern I would have is whether that's a Core Duo or a Core 2 Duo, the latter would be a 64-bit chip and would be capable of being upgraded to the latest version of OS X. The former would be limited to 10.6.

OP
M
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
The only concern I would have is whether that's a Core Duo or a Core 2 Duo, the latter would be a 64-bit chip and would be capable of being upgraded to the latest version of OS X. The former would be limited to 10.6.

Thanks for that; I'll check with the seller. Based on your comment, my suspicion is that it's a Core Duo as he notes that it's running OS X 10.6.8. Even if that were the case, it sounds like it would still give adequate performance.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
If you said that you were going to be using it for video editing, rendering or other CPU intensive tasks, I'd say you might want to looks elsewhere. But for your relatively modest requirements I think it should be fine.

C

chas_m