Ie help!!!

Reaction score
Hello all. I'm new to mac and so far so good, I'm really liking my MacBook Pro.
So lets get down to it. I'm in the Army and have several sites that i have to use for work. There is one site in particular that is telling me that it was designed for IE 6 or higher and that i do not have the correct browser (well of course not I'm using Safari). Is there a program that i can run / download... that will allow me to view and use IE only websites. I've tried Firefox with a IE add on but that didn't work. i see on the web that you can still download IE5 but that won't work either. Any insight that you could give me would be very much appreciated.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27" i7 iMac. Intel Quad Core. 16 GB Ram.
Have you tried Firefox without the IE plug-in. My son has a website where he states "Best viewed with IE" but I use firefox without the plug-in and it works just fine.

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
It depends on how the page is designed. If it uses ActiveX, it won't matter what browser you use on a Mac simply because ActiveX requires IE. If it doesn't use ActiveX and the web designer set an artificial block, you can change what's called your "user agent string" (an identifier that includes the name and version of the browser you're using). To do this in Safari, you first need to enable the Develop menu - Safari > Preferences > Advanced > check "Show Develop menu in menu bar." Once that is done, go to Develop > User Agent and choose one of the IE ones.

OP
T
Reaction score