Help in getting used MBP up and running

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to this forum, and still very much getting the feel for what's here and how to navigate the site. If the answers to my questions are already here and I just haven't stumbled across them, please excuse the extraneous posting and point me to them!

Ok, I'm being given a "hand-me-down" MBP tomorrow afternoon that is a year or two old. I'm not sure yet exactly how old, or what it's hardware configuration is, but I do know that there is a disc for the Tiger OS in there, as well as a disc for Leopard. The previous owner (a relative who's been kind enough to give me his old MBP after a recent upgrade) I believe has "wiped" the system clean so his data isn't on there, and is passing everything on to me.

I'm a PC guy (I know, I know....), and to say that I have ZERO knowledge of Macs is giving me a lot credit! My first question is, what resource should I reference for re-installing the OS and getting the machine up and running? Is there anything I should know about doing that? If there are discs present for Tiger and Leopard, is it safe to assume that I should put Leopard on the machine to start with, and then look into moving up from there if the hardware will support it?

Thanks for any help and pointers you guys can give. I'm looking forward to learning the Mac system soon. I've owned a iPhone for years and have an appreciation for what Apple is capable of.

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD
Hi, I'm new to this forum, and still very much getting the feel for what's here and how to navigate the site. If the answers to my questions are already here and I just haven't stumbled across them, please excuse the extraneous posting and point me to them!