What's a better OS for a beginner FreeBSD, OpenBSD, or Ubuntu?

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I know this is a Mac forum. My technical, setting up questions, and so on will go on either a BSD, or Linux forum.

I'm a beginner to both Linux, and BSD such as Unix.

I'm going to see how I can post a poll for some opinions. What would be good UI so I can remain to have my Windows 7? I'll post the list of the 3 below. I'm not looking to learn the commands. I'm only looking for security, well kind of, and a nice UI.

Ubuntu Linux

FreeBSD

OpenBSD

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I know this is a Mac forum. My technical, setting up questions, and so on will go on either a BSD, or Linux forum.

I'm a beginner to both Linux, and BSD such as Unix.

I'm going to see how I can post a poll for some opinions. What would be good UI so I can remain to have my Windows 7? I'll post the list of the 3 below. I'm not looking to learn the commands. I'm only looking for security, well kind of, and a nice UI.

Ubuntu Linux

FreeBSD

OpenBSD

Ubuntu has very friendly forums to help.

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
What would be good UI so I can remain to have my Windows 7?
What do you mean by this?

If you're not looking to learn the command line, stay away from FreeBSD and OpenBSD. You could try PCBSD if you really want to try BSD but don't want to get your "hands dirty" so to speak. If you don't care which OS you learn (Linux and BSD are two completely different operating systems), I'd suggest that you start with Linux.

Just a heads up - you'll have to hit the command line at some point regardless of whichever you choose (you might be able to avoid it but I doubt it).

Also, note that OS X is a Unix operating system with a nice UI and solid security. ;)

OP
P
Reaction score