Scanning/Editing

Reaction score
I'm an extreme newbie, so forgive me if I ask a totally stupid question. I've scanned docs from my HP Photosmart Premium to my iMac (Snow Leopard 10.6). The docs get scanned and saved to "PDF in Documents." When I open a doc on my iMac, I cannot figure out a way to edit it. I cannot highlight text or manipulate/edit it in any way. You'll be my hero for life if you can tell me how to accomplish this task.:*

I'm ashamed to say that I could do this easily on my old Dell PC, with docs going to and opening in Word. It distresses me that now I'm back to my beloved Mac, I cannot accomplish this task.

In truth, I blame me, not Mac.:Blushing:

C

chas_m

It sounds like you are scanning these files as IMAGES rather than doing OCR on them. If so, there's not much you can do with that. Re-scan the documents as OCR/Text (check your scanner's manual on how to do this, it should be pretty easy once you find out how.

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
It sounds like you are scanning these files as IMAGES rather than doing OCR on them. If so, there's not much you can do with that. Re-scan the documents as OCR/Text (check your scanner's manual on how to do this, it should be pretty easy once you find out how.

Agreed. If you are saving them as normal PDF's, there is not much you can do. Chas is correct.

I doubt you were scanning to PDF on your Dell.

M

MacInWin

Depending on the nature of the documents, you can open PDFs in Preview, and from there select text and then paste that text into word processors. I just did that into LibreOffice and TextEdit, so I presume it would work for most, if not all, word processors. You are not editing the document itself, but you can manipulate the text that was in the document, if that is the goal.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2018 15" MBP, 2019 11" iPad Pro, iPhone 11 Pro