"Safari says you not connected to the internet"et"

Reaction score
Well I found a place for some help. I have had a MAC for a few years and my experience is very basic, I have a desktop OS X version 10.5.8
I have AT&T for internet service and an airport for my brides laptop downstairs. Most times when I turn the computer on it says i am not connected to the internet so i restart the computer even though i just turned it on. if in the sleep mode it is a given it will give that message. My wandering around thinking i can "fix" something has caused me to spend hours on the phone with the ISP to get my internet back. I use AOL for my mail and my browser. Helping me will be like putting training wheels on a bike and grabbing your child and going outside so you were warned. lol.
Appreciate any and all help.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro (2019) 3.3 ghz 12-Core 96GB mem Vega Pro II
I have noticed that it takes about 20 or so seconds for my iMac to connect to the internet after waking up from sleep mode. If i close safari and wait a few more seconds then open it again I get a good connection.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini (Late 2014) 2.6GHz Intel Core i5 Memory: 8GB 1600MHz DDR3
I have AT&T internet service as well, and no such issues with my connection after the computer has been in sleep mode. So what did the AT&T support people tell you?

OP
K
Reaction score
They told me there is nothing wrong with the connection as long as the green lights are on the modem they supplied. Safari says that it cannot locate such and such because I am not on the internet so what gives? My wife's laptop downstairs same thing. It wasn't always like that though. Friend claims AOL has a curse on my computer.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini (Late 2014) 2.6GHz Intel Core i5 Memory: 8GB 1600MHz DDR3