• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

2011 iMac for video editing

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm new to mac and I'm recently using a PC running a 64-bit windows 7.
I own a sony avchd camcorder (VG10) and because of the unsupported video format on mac I chose PC.
But the new final cut pro X is now supporting AVCHD files and I want to buy a new device.
I'm think of purchasing a 27-inch imac with 16Gb ram, i7 and 2Gb graphics card.
Is this device enough for fast video editing? Is there going to be a mac pro upgrade?
I'm struggling on weather I should buy a PC of same specs with way low price than iMac or joining the Mac OS family.
Any suggestions? Thanks~:)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13MBP 2.4GHz Duo, 4 GB DDR3, Geforce 320M, 250GB HD
It's up to you, what ever your more comfortable with I'd say go for it. You could buy or build a pc for less then a Mac.

Your obviously going to get a biased answer hear. If you do get the 27-iMac, you won't be disappointed. The new Macbook Pro's just received a upgrade with the i5 and i7 chipsets, along with new graphics card and the thunderbolt port. But like I said it's up to you.

Either way, you will be happy with a Mac, and this is coming from a die-hard pc user.