Quitting programs

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" imac 3.06GHz Intel Core i3. 4GB 1333MHz DDR3
Hi there, I am a very happy switcher :)
I've been using an imac for about three months now and really really love it!

I hope I can describe this so it makes sense... I have noticed that when I shut down some programs using the X the program doesn't shut down fully and I have to follow it with cmdQ. The dock shows a little dot beside open programs and this doesn't go away until I press cmdQ. Is there any way to shut them down fully when I hit the X?

I hope that makes sense, thanks in advance.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Back to my old 2.2GHz C2D MB after selling my MBP and wondering what my next Mac will be :)
The x is to close the Window, not to quit the application.
To quit applications:
Command X
Right click dock icon and select quit
Select application in menu bar, and select quit in the scroll down menu

BrianLachoreVPI

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
March 2011 15" MBP 2.3GHz i7 Quad Core 8GB Ram | Mid 2011 27" iMac 3.4 GHz i7 16 GB RAM 2 TB HDD
Hi there, I am a very happy switcher :)
I've been using an imac for about three months now and really really love it!

I hope I can describe this so it makes sense... I have noticed that when I shut down some programs using the X the program doesn't shut down fully and I have to follow it with cmdQ. The dock shows a little dot beside open programs and this doesn't go away until I press cmdQ. Is there any way to shut them down fully when I hit the X?

I hope that makes sense, thanks in advance.

I think once you get to know cmd-Q -- you'll find that the quickest way to full quit a program. Doesn't get much quicker than that - easier and quicker than navigating the mouse to that little x. :) If you just want to shut a particular window - cmd-w is your friend (analogous to clicking the x)

OP
X
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" imac 3.06GHz Intel Core i3. 4GB 1333MHz DDR3