Security, junk cleaner and other tips

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
were do I get them!!!
Just received my Macbook yesterday, so am a complete novice. Firstly forgive me if these questions have already been posted.

Do I need an anti-virus programme and I have just activated the Macs firewall is this okay?

Also do I need to load any other software like crap cleaner or anything else?

And this may be a totally stupid question, can I d/l windows media or realplayer for a Macbook?

Thanks in advance

robduckyworth

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP, 2.5GHz i7, 750GB, 6770M 1GB, iPad 3, iPhone 4, custom PC
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
C

chas_m

The OS X firewall is unnecessary if you own a router, which has a hardware firewall.

Having both doesn't make you double-safe, it just doubles the chances of program conflicts and other hard-to-diagnose internet problems.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2010 Macbook - OS X 10.9 - iPhone 4s - iPod - iPad
Hi,

I defiantly do not use any AV software, but do use Onyx as it is reliable software, also VLC more than any other for Videos > DVD`s etc

Defiantly do not want to run any windows related software. As there is a plethora of Mac software that does the exact same job if you are switching.

And this forum is a great information centre with lots of related links.

Reaction score
Hi,

I defiantly do not use any AV software, but do use Onyx as it is reliable software, also VLC more than any other for Videos > DVD`s etc

Defiantly do not want to run any windows related software. As there is a plethora of Mac software that does the exact same job if you are switching.

And this forum is a great information centre with lots of related links.