Gmail queries (newbie)

Reaction score
Hey folks, i'm new to the Mac experience and loving it so far, i have set up a gmail account on mac mail but everytime i delete the mails on mac mail they come back next time i log in, its obviously redownloading from the gmail server so in order for me to permanently delete the mails never to be seen again i must delete them from the server, is there an easier way round this? i would like to be able to just delete them from mac mail and that would be the last i see of them.

any help would be great :)

Gordie

Reaction score
I dont know if it helps or not, but I use GMail as a POP email service, and these are my settings. Mail only downloads once to my Mac, but is retained on the GMail server.

Screen shot 2011-05-23 at 9.31.40 PM.png

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Solution: stop using GMail as a POP service. Switch to IMAP.

We have to remember that many folks have absolutely no need to use IMAP. For the average user, whether on a Mac or PC, POP mail is fine. Owners of more than one device that can access email should for convenience sake use IMAP.

Reaction score
I use POP because I prefer to have my mail stored locally. My Internet is very stable, but even still, I don't like the idea of potentially being without something I need in the instance of a service interruption.

And it's not really such a big deal with my iPhone since, when I'm roaming around the neighborhood, I just turn off Outlook and so any new messages go to the phone while I'm out and I know what's going on back at the office. If I need to genuinely operate remotely, I'll take my MBP with me.

In my case, at least, POP works.

OP
G
Reaction score