New mac, best practices as I install new software

Reaction score
Coming from windows. I'm not a programmer, but I'd consider myself a quasi-power user.

My procedure on a pc would be a clean OS install, full backup.
Install/authenticate major productivity software, full backup.
Install 'lower level' programs (adobe reader, utilities, online services, etc), incremental backup.

And so I would do a refresh every 6mo's to a year, due to Windows being the pos that it is. I'm about to do that right now on my netbook...sigh...

So what's the deal with mac? Do I really just need to make a backup "as I go"? Is it not common to have speed drops as the OS accumulates use? Is it not common to do 'refreshers' by restoring to earlier backups?

Just want to go in with best practices from the outset, instead of having to learn from mistakes, as I did with Windows, painfully.

thanks for the suggestions!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2018 15" MBP, 2019 11" iPad Pro, iPhone 11 Pro
Typically with Macs, reinstalling the OS is something you would do if there was a major problem and you had to fix something. It's not required as maintenance. Your Mac could possibly, maybe slow down a teeny tiny bit over time if you run a lot of heavy-processing apps simultaneously and fill up the internal HDD. But that's not very likely.

Keep at least 15% - 20% of the HDD free.
Format an external drive (just about any brand - Seagate, Western Digital, etc.) to work with Time Machine (included backup app). Instructions here: How to Format a Hard Drive in Mac OS X | eHow.com
If you ever want to remove an app that you've installed, first see if it came with an uninstaller and use that. If not, it's usually as simple as dragging the app from your Applications Folder to the Trash and emptying the Trash.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2018 15" MBP, 2019 11" iPad Pro, iPhone 11 Pro
Also wanted to add, be sure to read the 3 stickies at the top of this forum.