Power mac help!

Reaction score
Hi, i am not a mac guy. i recently came into ownership of a Power Mac G4. I got it from my tech school. They were a donation froma local biz. I just picked one up to play with cuz i never used one before and being an IT student i wanted to play.

so it's got OSX 10.4.11 and it's ok i guess but i wanted to know if i can update this box?

it's got a dual 867s and a gig of ram so it's not a bad machine but i wanted to get the newer OSX on it.

I am just using this thing as a hub more music and movies and stuff in my living room so i dont need a rocket machine here. but i wanted to make it as good as i can.

is there anyway i can get a blueray player for this thing?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.26 8GB RAM 500GBhdd, iPhone 4, and iPad
which powermac is it, what color is the case?

If Im not mistaken you can pick up the Dual 1ghz or 1.2 processors attached to the daughter card on ebay and drop it in your machine depending on which it is. When we sell them on ebay I think they typically go for 60-100 bucks now, maybe less its been a while since I have had some to sell.

Also, I *think* those take DDR, not sure what speed though...

OP
M
Reaction score
it takes 133 DDR. but i just wanna get a blueray player and if i can i wanna put one in this thing. can i do that?

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
so it's got OSX 10.4.11 and it's ok i guess but i wanted to know if i can update this box?

You can to a degree:

- you can upgrade the cpu...but will cost you $200-$300. This is primarily done via cpu upgrade cards. If you're lucky you might find one on e-Bay for less.

- you can upgrade the ram a bit further to 2 gig.
- you might be able to find a better graphics card...just got to be careful that it's compatible (NEEDS to be a Macintosh version...not a Windows card)
- could always upgrade the DVD drive...here are blue-ray options: