Buying a New MAC: Refurbished or Latest Model?

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm planning on getting my first MAC; a MacBook Pro 15. Now, even though I admit the machines are worth its price, I think going refurbished could be beneficial in my pocket pocket (I have also heard that refurbished are even better machines). However, my concern is that I will get a 2010 machine (that's what they have at their store for now) and I wonder if the computer, even though it could save me as much as $600, isn't as powerful as the new ones making it a not-so-good purchase.

What do you guys think? Here's an example refurbished they have: Refurbished MacBook Pro 2.53GHz Intel Core i5 - Apple Store (U.S.).

I plan to use the laptop for work (I'm a web/graphic designer planning to work with video and on the go [has to be a top computer I can take anywhere so I can work on everything I need]).

Thanks! ;D

C

chas_m

From what I've read, the new ones are substantially faster (to the tune of 25%) but much more importantly in my view have Thunderbolt. I think that will future-proof them better than the older model. Of course, for me laptops tend to have only a four- or five-year lifespan, so I'm not sure that matters much.

I've had nothing but great experiences with refurbs, but it's your call on this one.

OP
K
Reaction score
Refurbished MACs

From what I've read, the new ones are substantially faster (to the tune of 25%) but much more importantly in my view have Thunderbolt. I think that will future-proof them better than the older model. Of course, for me laptops tend to have only a four- or five-year lifespan, so I'm not sure that matters much.

I've had nothing but great experiences with refurbs, but it's your call on this one.

I think we are on the same side then. I also think that "missing" Thunderbolt will not be good. For a few years now, I have considered that buying the best is the way to go. And, 4 - 5 years is also what I look after.