Advice on MacbookPro vs. Air

Reaction score
I'm a Mac lover who's been stuck in a PC world all my life, and I'm finally making the switch to replace my HP notebook with a Mac notebook. I'm wavering between the 13 inch Pro and Air, and hoped to get some advice.

I'm a travel writer, so I'll have this notebook on the road a lot, which is one reason the Air appeals to me. I also love the concept of the flash memory and the fast response (I am very impatient...when I open an application, I want it open yesterday.) On the flip side, this will be my primarily computer at home too, so it won't be a secondary just for use on the road. I do light video editing and photo editing and run several applications at once on a regular basis for my work, and I'm worried that while 2GB is probably enough memory for me either way, the Air's processor won't be enough for me. The Pro is only a few pounds heavier, and will give me more power for the $. I don't think I'll miss the optical drive, so that's a non-issue.

Thoughts?

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD
I don't believe the processor will be an issue but we always seem to need more RAM, and with the MBA you have to live with what comes with your system (not upgradeable). So, I would go for 4Mb unless the additional cost was a deal breaker.
Also, though no one outside of Apple knows their upgrade cycle I would not buy the MBA now. There is too much of possibility that we will see Thunderbolt (high speed data port) and newer high speed low power processors coming out in a refresh around the mid to late year (along with release of Lion OSX).
So, I would go with the MBA, but I would wait unless I just had to have a new computer right now.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Back to my old 2.2GHz C2D MB after selling my MBP and wondering what my next Mac will be :)
The Air will meet your needs, but as a primary computer, it may not in the future.