New to Mac recording - need advice.

Reaction score
Hello, I am just getting into live recording with my macbook pro - I have used Garageband for a few years and am very happy with it.

The advice I need is what are some good equipment setups to record live music. Not live shows of bands, but something I can hook up 3 or 4 mics and record small jam sessions of friends, usually in a living room or around a campfire. Also I want to record nature and misc. sounds for podcasts or imovie.

I am looking for a piece of equipment to hook the mics or midi instruments into my mac. Also some good picks for mics as well. Am trying to keep this small and portable. Not too expensive, but not cheap either, I know you get what you pay for.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks people!!

robduckyworth

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP, 2.5GHz i7, 750GB, 6770M 1GB, iPad 3, iPhone 4, custom PC
for nature recordings, you will want an omni directional mic: one that picks up all around. on more expensive mics, they have switches, meaning you can toggle between uni directional, bi directional and so on. this would be great, and could probably be used for your podcasting. something like the AKG C414 would be great, if money allowed it....

for recording 3-4 mics, you will want to grab a USB/FW audio interface, Focusrite and M Audio do some great ones, be sure to check them out. make sure it is bus powered, to keep it portable.

btw do you want advice on what mics to buy for setting up different instruments?

MIDI wise most controllers today support USB MIDI, so you wouldnt need an interface.

OP
P
Reaction score
Yes, I would love advice on mics. Here are a few scenarios I will be doing.

1) Very intimate drumming. Djembes, ashikas, dumbecks, udus, and various other noise makers, but played pretty quietly and in a tight circle. Mics could be on each drum or in the center.