Windows 7 on a Mac

Reaction score
Hey
I'm absolute newbie on MAC so this might be some stupid questions:)

Do I need a Win7 license to be able to run win7 from VMware Fusion or Parallels?

Furthermore would it be necessary to buy a antivirus program? Both a Windows version and a MAC version?

For PC I use MalwareBytes to get rid of spyware. Is spyware a problem on MAC and what program would do the MalwareBytes job on a MAC.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Hey
I'm absolute newbie on MAC so this might be some stupid questions:)

Do I need a Win7 license to be able to run win7 from VMware Fusion or Parallels?

Yes. Any time you want to run Windows, you need to own a license.

Furthermore would it be necessary to buy a antivirus program? Both a Windows version and a MAC version?

If you're running Windows, it's advisable to run an anti-virus product on it. On Mac OS X you probably don't need any kind of anti-virus product as there are so few malware products for the Mac. But there are so many opinions on this, we could easily dedicate another thread to the discussion. As a matter of fact, we already have one. See here.

For PC I use MalwareBytes to get rid of spyware. Is spyware a problem on MAC and what program would do the MalwareBytes job on a MAC.

I like Malwarebytes on Windows as well. I have yet to encounter any type of spyware/adware, etc on a Mac so I haven't bothered to look for something equivalent on the Mac.

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
edit: cwa beat me to it.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
When online in your Windows 7 partition, download Microsoft Security Essentials and keep it up to date. It is freeware and quite good.

OP
A
Reaction score
Thanks for the response.

I have bought licenses for DVDFAB + Tunebite both for windows.