where are the DJ's at?

Reaction score
i am a beginner with this hobby but it was my main reason for buying my MBP (besides just really really wanting one for other various reasons)...

i have no idea what kind of turntables to purchase and it is a pretty big investment so i would love some opinions.. i do not know if i should go with regular old school looking turntables or to go with a CDJ type such as the type Pioneer offers (have my mind set on the Pioneer brand)

a friend recommended these
Amazon.com: TECHNICS SL-1200MK2 Turntable: Electronics

and another recommended something like these
Amazon.com: Pioneer CDJ1000MK2 Digital Vinyl Turntable CD Player: Electronics

i imagine turntables alone will cost me over $2,000... then i still want to purchase Serato Scratch Live .. aye yi yi

OP
B
Reaction score
Well first decide if you want to go vinyl or CDJ. After that then decide.

Both those options that you posted are great. The TT is a industry standard and **** near a legend in its own right but the pioneers are some of the best in the industry as well and known to be the best for CDJing.

Serato would be a sweet setup with either one of those. After that you just need a decent mixer. If your mainly going to be doing scratching/spinning then awesome any 2 channel DJ mixer should be fine to start out with.

If you do make sure that the crossfader can be replaced. Some cost more than others but if you get one that pops in and out it saves you headaches and money in the long run even if they cost a bit more upfront. And they usually last longer.