Getting an error connecting to target. Should be simple. Help please.

Reaction score
Hey,

I'm a software developer but and have recently taken up some Objective-C and Cocoa books.

I'm currently on Aaron Hillegaas's Book "Cocoa Programming for Max OS X"

In Chapter 5 he has you go through a simple program on how to create a program utilizing the NSSpeechSynthesizer. You create a text field and two buttons, with the purpose of being able to type in a phrase and then you can press Start or Stop to have the machine read your phrase.

I have found the exact 'Chapter' or 'Code snippet description' here ( Creating a Cocoa AppController Class )

I have followed everything exactly and I get the following error when I build and run.

2011-03-16 22:06:27.010 SpeakLine[1051:a0f] Could not connect the action sayIt: to target of class AppController
2011-03-16 22:06:27.011 SpeakLine[1051:a0f] Could not connect the action stopIt: to target of class AppController

I know my code is likely fine as I was able to find ONE other person having this issue while doing a google search and following this Chapter. However, he never found a solution.

Does anyone know what is the issue with this likely easy issue?

Reaction score
Usually you need to register a control with a target. You can do it from code or interface builder. You can checkout the API docs for UIControl. There you will find an addTarget method. That's what you need to call on the control reference to register the callback method (action) with the control. I pasted some sample code so you can see how to call the addTarget method from a controller class.

- (void)setupControls {
[mySlider addTarget:self action:mad:selector(updateVolume)
forControlEvents:UIControlEventValueChanged];
[myButton addTarget:self action:mad:selector(hitOrMiss)
forControlEvents:UIControlEventTouchUpInside];
}

OP
C
Reaction score
Awesome, thank you. I will try this when I get home tonight.