Should I buy a Mac? Which One?

D

dwd3885

I've been an avid pc user for years, I'm 21 now, in college. I have a pretty powerful PC. Here's the rig:

Antec SLK3000B
Seasonic S12-430 PSU
Chaintech VFN4 Ultra w/NB47J
AMD Athlon 64 3000+
evga GeForce 6600 GT w/VF700CU
2gb Corsiar Value Select DDR 400 RAM
Hauppage WinTV PVR 250
Dell 2005 FPW

Now I almost made the switch this summer, but didn't and ended up building this pc. Now I was thinking of either selling this pc and buying some sort of PowerMac on ebay or just buying a Mac Mini brand new with edu discount at Apple. I am a Communication student who is getting a Digital Media Certificate. This means I am doing classes in video editing, sound, photo all the time. With an emphasis on audio mixing and recording. Is a Mac for me? I'd say I'd rather probably buy a more powerful mac, but don't know if it's in my budget unless I can sell this rig, which prolly won't happen. Off to class for the day, I'll check back here around 12 central time. Thanks for your advice

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 8x3.0ghz 12gb ram 8800GT , MBP 2.16 2GB Ram 17 inch.
I would have to say get your self a mac, the software you can get for what you are doing is really good, there is final cut pro, and logic... photoshop you can put on any computer but i personally like the feel of it on the mac. I would say get a more powerful mac then the mini with the work you will be doing.. the iMac if you can not sell your current computer and the powermac if you can. You should read this thread.. http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=21613

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
Since you already have a poweful enough system, that seems to be working just fine for you, I see no reason for you to replace it. A "switch" would be a poor choice for you at this time IMO. Especially since you just spent the time and money on the new system you have now.