• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

Video editing software advice

D

Dennisco

Hi.
I'm new to the MAC (and thrilled) after being a dedicated Windows user for the last 17 years. I'm sold on them and I have a dualproc G5 (for me) and an iMAC G5 for my hunny.

Anyway, I've previously used Adobe Premier (painfully, I might add) for a little bit on Windows, then switched to Sony Vegas and have been pretty happy with that. I don't do HD yet, only because I haven't been able to, but I'd love to.

Right now I want to get some advice from you experts out there on what to use on the MAC. My requirements are as follows:
1) i don't want to buy something and then say "oh darn, I should have bought the next version up".
2) I do alot of slide shows (stills with transitions, music in the backgrounds, and want to be able to fade in / out audio tracks).
3) All of my video has been shot thus far on a Sony DV tape recorder and I can easily (I hope) either move it over to the MAC, or I'm fine w/reimporting to whatever I buy.