Time Capsule Alternative

E

EightmanVT

So - I've read quite a bit regarding the various backup approaches and methodologies and have settled on a candidate approach for myself. I'd like to have a 2 TB Firewire 800 drive that I will use to clone my drive periodically using Super Duper or something similar (probably no more than weekly although that may change). I'm also considering using a second drive in conjunction with Time Machine - but I'd like to do this in a similar fashion as what the Time Capsule offers - meaning wirelessly but I don't like most of what I read about the Time Capsule. CNET was pretty scathing in its review.

I'm not a networking expert by any stretch, although willing to beef up my knowledge as needed to implement this. I currently use a Verizon FIOS wireless router (probably only 802.11G...believe we got it before 'n' routers were shipping)... Curious to know if others on here use a similar setup or if you have alternate suggestions. I'm wondering if I should invest in a faster 'n' router to use at home along with the drive.

Thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2010 17" MBP |core i7 2.66|4gb ddr3|500gb 7200rpm|snow leopard|
Well there's no legitimate way to use Time Machine over NAS unless you use Apple's Time Capsule. I believe there are a few 'janky' work-arounds but nothing that is really that appealing, IMO.

The Time Capsule is actually an airport router and attatched storage built together, so it would server as your router. Personally, since I don't have any "super sensitive data" I just use a portable Seagate hard drive.

I would say, if you don't want to buy a Time Capsule, stick with your original idea to buy a Firewire drive to do your backups.

OP
E

EightmanVT