How to install "Classic" on Intel MBP

Reaction score
Hello,

I've been reading on the web about how to run Classic OS on Intel Macs, but most of the articles are circa 2006.

Does anybody have more current information about how to do this?

I'm studying to get into Dental School and I found my Chemistry book from 2004 that had accompanying CD's that only run in Classic. I'd like to review them for the test.

Also, if Mini VMac, Basilisk, etc., etc. is still the only way to go, can somebody tell me where I can get a copy of the Classic ROM image?

Thanks,

Justin

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Give this a read:

Classic Environment

...the important part is..."Classic is supported on PowerPC-based Macs running versions of Mac OS X up to v10.4 Tiger, but is not supported on v10.5 Leopard and later, nor on Intel-based Macs running any version of Mac OS X."

One easy & inexpensive solution is just buy an older PPC Mac (with OS 10.4 & "Classic" already installed on it)...and you're good to go.:)

HTH,

- Nick

OP
J
Reaction score
Give this a read:

Classic Environment

...the important part is..."Classic is supported on PowerPC-based Macs running versions of Mac OS X up to v10.4 Tiger, but is not supported on v10.5 Leopard and later, nor on Intel-based Macs running any version of Mac OS X."

One easy & inexpensive solution is just buy an older PPC Mac (with OS 10.4 & "Classic" already installed on it)...and you're good to go.:)

HTH,

- Nick

In some of my reading, though, I've seen multiple people state that they've used certain programs/emulation software(s) like SheepShaver and Basilisk to emulate a PowerPC (and thus Classic) on Intel-based Macs.

Am I just reading them wrong?

I guess I could also run a VNC Server on an old(er) Mac and a VNC Client on my MBP, but I really don't want to have to buy an old Mac just to view these CD videos.