Looking for advice on what Mac is best for me

Reaction score
I'm a university student and I am currently using a two year old, expensive, Toshiba that I have had tons of problems with. I've been thinking about switching to a Mac but I am unsure what to get. I probably don't need a lot of space so a MacBook or Air may be good but I was wondering if I may as well spend the extra money and get a MacBook pro. I've also been wondering about refurbished computers. Any suggestions?

Reaction score
Tough choice now honestly... Either the 13" MB or the 13" MBP would both be excellent choices.

I'd go with either the $999 or the $1,199 models..

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Welcome to the Mac Forums.

It depends on what your studies are at school and what you primarily do with your computer. A MacBook or MacBook Pro are generally recommended for school work. Good graphics, speed, capacity, durability, and so forth. A MacBook Air of course is very nice since it's small and light weight. But an Air has disadvantages that you need to think about: No optical drive and can not be upgraded once purchased.

Apple refurbished machines are generally as good as those purchased new and they carry Apple's full warranty. Good refurbished units go fast though, so if you see something you like you have to jump on it fairly quick.

OP
P
Reaction score
Besides storage are there any big differences in having a pro over just a Macbook? Is it worth the extra cost?

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Besides storage are there any big differences in having a pro over just a Macbook? Is it worth the extra cost?

If you're comparing the 13" 2.4ghz MacBook vs. the 13" 2.4ghz MacBook Pro...there REALLY aren't any MAJOR differences you couldn't live without.

The: