Compatibility w/XP questions

H

hduk

I am looking to buy a laptop for university, and was thinking of getting a 14" iBook G4, with 80gb hard drive and 1g RAM, + the standard stuff...

Anyway, I've never used Macs before and was wondering:

Would I be able to transfer files e.g. .doc, .wma, .xls, from my PC (WinXP) to a Mac, and be able to open them straight away, i.e. would I have to do anything in terms of compatibility?
Is it true that MS Access is not compatible with Macs at all?
Is it worth buying the official Office for Mac software or are there better alternatives?

Sorry if the answers are really obvious, but just want to make sure before I get one :)

OP
Z

Zingy

Im a Mac newbie, but I think I can help.

.doc, .xls and .mp3, .jpg all work.. I have had no problems at all.

Even my external hard drive works like a dream even though it was formatted for Windows.. and my Mp3 player too. Just plug it in and it works.

I 'think' Mac doesnt recognise .wma.

Office is pretty good for Mac. Its a little different in terms of layout and stuff, and feels a little different from Office for Windows.. but does that same thing. I just took a while getting used to resizing and positioning the windows.

Office Mac doesnt contain Access.. so I dont think its compatible.

Reaction score
Zingy pretty much answered everthing right. If you need to play WMA files you can download Windows Media Player for OS X. There is no OS X version of access.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 13" | MacBook Pro 13" | Mac Mini 2GHz C2D
i believe there is a windows media player for mac.

mynameis beat me to it.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
12" 1Ghz PB 768Mb 10.4.5 30Gb Video iPod 40Gb 3G iPod 1Gb iPod Shuffle
also if you dont want to pay for office have a look at neo office which is totally free and IMO is more that upto the job

OP
B

Biturbo V12 AMG