Audio but no video

Reaction score
Hi,

First time on this forum so hope i'm posting in the right place for this .

I'm a Macbook pro convert of 1week today !

Was having trouble playing some video files but then found out that Quicktime doesn't play all video file types so downloaded DivX.

This played the particular video file but when I tried to play the tutorial videos on the Apple website I could get the audio but no video. I therefore decided to uninstall DivX.

To do this I downloaded AppCleaner.

This uninstalled DivX successfully but when I now try to play the tutorial videos on the Apple website I still cannot get video content and the audio is playing twice _ approx 2/3 seconds apart.

Any help would be greatly received as it's starting to drive me mad as I've tried everything I can think of.

Thanks

C

chas_m

Sounds like you (or the DivX software) has hosed up your Mac but good.

You can try installing Flip4Mac WMV Player and Perian (both free) and see if that fixes the issue, but I have a feeling a reinstall is in your future.

OP
B
Reaction score
Hi

Thanks for the reply - I think !

Tried installing Flip4Mac and Perian and no change I'm afraid.

Don't really see how I could have ballsed anything up - all I did was install DivX then uninstall it !

Gave YouTube a go and everything runs fine on there - don't know if that has any bearing on the problem or not.

Anyway - thanks again.

Reaction score
What *might* help is if you try to re-install iTunes. That might fix the codecs. If that doesn't help, try installing Quicktime 7, then uninstall it. What OS are you on?

Reaction score
Great, then do as I suggested and let us know if it changed anything.

OP
B
Reaction score
Hi,

Uninstalled and reinstalled itunes but that hasn't helped.