New iBook or Powerbook

B

Bohemian

I was not able to purchase an iBook a few months ago like originally planned. Now, I am glad I was not able to.

I am a college student majoring in philosophy, neuroscience and physics with a minor in mathematics. I'm telling you this to tell you what programs I use. Most frequently, I use Word, Powerpoint, Firefox, and GAIM. When needed, I use Mathematica or Matlab.

I currently have an IBM Thinkpad T23. It is just too slow and it doesn't run Mathematica, and as I get further in my education, it's important that I have a copy of Mathematica myself.

Anyways, what should I get? The 14 inch iBook or the 12 or 15 inch Powerbook? 12 inches seems really small to me. I wasn't too thrilled about the 15 inch widescreen, but I am sure I will get over it.

So, I ask for your opinions...

Best,
Chris

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
1.67 Ghz 17" PB w/1 GB Ram; 400 MHz PM G4, 366Mhz iBook Firewire, Nano 4GB Black
http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=21613
"
I'd go 15" with the better vid card. The 14" iBook is nice, but the power the 15" offers will be nice with Mathematica. The 12" is really small, although the advantage is that it is very portable. But, it doesn't offer the same umph the 15" would offer.

rman

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14in MacBook Pro M1 Max 32GB 2TB
The question is not which to get either iBook or PowerBook, but does Mathematica, Matlab, and GAIM run on Apple hardware? If all of these applications run on Apple hardware then you can choose between an iBook or a PowerBook.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" iMac C2D 2.16ghz, 13" MacBook 2.0ghz, 60gb iPod vid, 1gb nano
Mathematica and Matlab run on Mac's and GAIM is just another IM client so even if they don't have GAIM for OSX there are several other clients

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15 inch 1.83. iBook G4.
rman said: