Switching to iTunes from WinAmp question

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Air (2010), 1.86GHz C2D, 4GB, 128GB SSD | Power Mac G4 DA 466MHz, 1GB, OS X 10.4.11, OS 9
Hello,

I'm new to Mac and I would like to start using iTunes. On my Windows 7 PC, I have a harddisk dedicated to storing a very large collection of MP3 files. In WinAmp, I set the Library folder to be the whole E: drive, WinAmp scanned it and I was ready to go (I emphasize that WinAmp doesn't move files to some obscure locations, doesn't rename them - nothing, it just scans the contents of the drive. I emphasize this because I have a feeling that Apple applications do a lot of rather nasty things on the sly - e.g. when I opened a remote mp3 file, iTunes copied it to its obscure folder on my Mac, I had to switch this behaviour off). Now I want to do the same "WinAmp-ish" stuff in iTunes. I've already hooked up a Mac-Pc network and can access the E: drive with the mp3 files from my Mac. I want iTunes to scan the content of the E: drive and use it as my mp3 library. No renaming, moving or whatever of the original mp3 files - they and the folders they are residing in must stay absolutely intact.

Any suggestions?

Reaction score
To change where your iTunes music is stored, click iTunes, Preferences, Advanced, and then click the Change button next to the iTunes Media folder location box.

In the same place you can also set iTunes so that it will not copy files to that location by unchecking the box labeled Copy files to iTunes Media folder when adding to library.

You should also uncheck the box labeled Keep iTunes Media folder organized, since you want to do this yourself.

After you've made those adjustments to your settings, open your drive in Finder, and drag and drop all your music folders into iTunes. Depending on the size of your library, the database could take a while to populate.