Torrents safe?

• Thread starter brianwithan eye
  • Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
B

brianwithan eye

Im very new to the whole torrent thing, Ive always heard about them but never really considered using them until now, but I was wondering how safe they are, could i really mess things up by downloading from the torrent sites?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
12" 1Ghz PB 768Mb 10.4.5 30Gb Video iPod 40Gb 3G iPod 1Gb iPod Shuffle
you mac will be safe but you wont be if your cought with illegal copies of music and sw etc

OP
B

brianwithan eye

inflexion said:
you mac will be safe but you wont be if your cought with illegal copies of music and sw etc

not that i will be partatking in any illegal downloading but do alot of people get caught??

OP
B

badmojo

brianwithan eye said:
not that i will be partatking in any illegal downloading but do alot of people get caught??

The one's that typically get nailed are heavy users. Torrents are not indetectible meaning it's possible to track you. I have a couple friends who use newsgroups to d/l illegal stuff but I have no idea how it's done, nor care to.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iBook 1.33GHz G4 14", 60GB, 768MB RAM, Airport, Bluetooth, Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger
Hey brian,

Admittedly, I sometimes download from torrent sites. I download an album, and if I like it, I buy it, otherwise it ends up in the trash. I never had any malware related problems or anything like that. BUT, I think that it's a rather risky business to partake in, because the RIAA means business when it comes to tracking people down. They contacted my cousin about downloading illegal stuff, and he ended up making some sort of deal with them -- it wasn't cheap, though.

Since that happened, I lowered my torrent activities substantially. It's better to be safe than sorry. You never know who's out there, snooping around.

My advice to you is: Don't download from torrent sites.