Which setup would you buy?

Reaction score
I'm about to buy an Imac 27'. I was wondering which setup should I get. I'm going to be doing ALOT of music, some Video Editing and DVD Encoding.

I7 processor with 4gb Ram 256ssd
or
I5 processor with 16gb Ram 256ssd

I wanted the TC for a tb of space, but I have verizon fios router so didnt know if i would be defeating the purpose. or should i buy a mac version of an external hd? But i wanted my macbook pro to link with the time machine to backup wirelessly. my fault but im new to apple so i might sound a little confused but i would like to have EVERYTHING apple. but if i have to make additional adjustments i would. as long as its apple approved on the product.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I'm about to buy an Imac 27'. I was wondering which setup should I get. I'm going to be doing ALOT of music, some Video Editing and DVD Encoding.

I7 processor with 4gb Ram 256ssd
or
I5 processor with 16gb Ram 256ssd

Easy answer (IMHO). You can always upgrade the ram...you CANNOT upgrade the cpu.

HTH,

- Nick

OP
N
Reaction score
Ok thanks, but im looking at the speed point of view would I actually see a difference.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Either machine will give you plenty of speed for what you're going to use it for. Just buy the machine with the best graphics capability. You can add memory later on yourself. You might also think about the option of having Apple install two hard drives; large standard SATA and the SSD.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Ok thanks, but im looking at the speed point of view would I actually see a difference.