How do I upload avi files (movie) to Itunes?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook pro OS X 10.5.8
Im new to MAC and just wondering how do I upload avi files movies to Itunes then to my Iphone 4. Thank you and you have a happy holiday

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
3.4 Ghz i7 MacBook Pro (2015), iPad Pro (2014), iPhone Xs Max. Apple TV 4K
You can't. AVI is not a format that either iTunes or your iPhone will take, at least not natively. You need to convert them to MP4 or M4V to make them compatible with both natively.

You can download the VLC App for the iPhone and upload almost any video that way, but they will only play from within the VLC app and not in iTunes on the phone.

OP
K
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook pro OS X 10.5.8
You can't. AVI is not a format that either iTunes or your iPhone will take, at least not natively. You need to convert them to MP4 or M4V to make them compatible with both natively.

You can download the VLC App for the iPhone and upload almost any video that way, but they will only play from within the VLC app and not in iTunes on the phone.

thank you but how do i upload files from my computer?

C

chas_m

"Upload" is not really the correct term, just FYI. You mean "transfer."

The best method is to convert the AVI (or whatever) files to MP4 format using a converter like Evom (free). It will do the job, put the resulting file in iTunes if you want, and then you just set your sync options in iTunes and done. I convert files while I'm sleeping so this is an "instant, invisible" process for me.

OP
K
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook pro OS X 10.5.8
"Upload" is not really the correct term, just FYI. You mean "transfer."