Switching

Reaction score
A client of mine had a 2nd generation iMac that was constantly shutting down so he called me to see if I could fix it. After he had gone to another computer company who told him he needed extensive repairs and replacements, I found the problem to be his internal airport card and by switching it off his computer was as steady as a rock. By this time he bought a new MacMini and I transferred all of his company's files. He was grateful and gave me the iMac.

I am a computer professional who works on both PC and Mac so you can imagine how thrilled I am to actually own a Mac. I have upgraded the OS to 10.6.5 and trimmed down a bunch of files I don't need. I ordered a cable to attach a second monitor and have been working away learning all I can.

I found myself booting both machines together this morning to see which one loads faster. After checking my email on the iMac and responding to a couple, my PC was still loading.

I design as well so naturally I am looking forward to using my copy of Photoshop CS5, installed yesterday. The display is so bright and lively I am loving it.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
Good news, have fun with that free bargain mac

C

chas_m

Not sure what you mean by "2nd generation iMac," the second generation of them came around and went away over 10 years ago!

Still, I hope you enjoy whatever model iMac that actually is!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini (Late 2014) 2.6GHz Intel Core i5 Memory: 8GB 1600MHz DDR3
Wait, this client was so grateful that you fixed his Mac that he gave it to you? Does he have a Bugatti that needs a fill-up?

Reaction score
Is it this one?

comp0302imac_A.gif

OP
R
Reaction score
Is it this one?

comp0302imac_A.gif
Nope but I have one of those as well sitting in a corner gathering dust. My iMac has a 2.16 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo (which makes it 2nd generation as the first had Intel Core Duo). It's an iMac 5.1.