Did I get a lemon?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 27" i7 2.93ghz quad core, iPhone 4, iPad 16gb wifi
Just got a 27 inch i7 iMac and I love it so far; however almost evey time I try to multi-task I get the beach ball and it seizes up my Mac. Sometimes I can't even force quit an application or even restart or shut down my Mac. An example from last night; while trying to convert some video files I simply opened safari and the whole system beach balled. I had to do a hard restart and lost all my progress on the video conversion. This type of situation has happened at least six times in a week. The Mac is a refurb direct from apple. Refurb or not it seems to me that this machine should handle thse types of things with ease. Could I have a lemon on my hands or might I be doing something wrong? I'm new to Mac and OSX so it could be operator error I just don't know.

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
Depending on the load on the system during the video conversion, it's possible that Safari might be a little slower starting up, but it shouldn't freeze the whole system..

I have a refurned 27" i7 iMac as well and the only time I see the beachball during the normal use of the Mac is when an application is misbehaving or something. I usually have about a dozen or more applications running at the same time doing a whole lot of things with it..

Watching Activity Monitor during all of my actions shows that I'm only ever using about 30% available CPU capacity at any time..

So do this, start up Activity Monitor as the first thing on your Mac, keep it running and then start your video conversion and see how much power that's taking and then load another application to see what happens..

The system shouldn't behave likt this so you should talk to Apple sooner rather than later to get it resolved..

Regards

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD