Mac Network

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iPod 3GS 16gb
Good day to you all!

I am in the process of setting up my own business and I considering purchasing three macbook pro's for me and my two employees.

I have never used a mac in my life before but love the service i get from my iphone and thought that I might switch.

The only thing holding me back pressing the 'order' button is that I'm not sure of the capabilities of the Mac for what I need. (Cripes, I'm not sure of the capabilities of a PC either!)

I need all three macbooks to be able to access and amend the central files, in addition to accessing a shared calender - securely - the files contain sensative information so having a web-based 'thing that I am describing' :Confused: will not really be an option.

Is this an option?

Thanks for your help in advance!

G

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini, i5, SSD & 1TB, 8 GB
I'm no expert on networking, but I do have all my Macs and PCs networked at home with a NAS server for Time Machine Back-Ups and I use Google cal sync and MobileME for syncing files, calendars. contacts and bookmarks.

Three MacBook Pros and a Mini Sever would probably meet the needs you listed. I'm sure some of the experts here will give some better advice.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
1.8 GHz i7 MBA 11" OSX 10.8.2
What type of files are these central files? What program do you use to access these files.

There are ways to keep web based groupware secure. If your files are connected to the internet then there is always a risk. Web based utilities can be secure. If you couldn't secure it do you think banks would be going online?

Anyway - the key I think is what files are you generating/accessing?

OP
I
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iPod 3GS 16gb
The files used would be microsoft word/pdf files/scanned docs. The purpose would be to access indevidual files, view them and add additional documents to them.