Objective Cost Comparison: Mac vs PC

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
1.8 GHz i7 MBA 11" OSX 10.8.2
It seems there has been either a lot of interest or a lot of trolls lately when it comes to the Mac vs PC debate. I'd like to show why you aren't doing an Apples to Apple (pardon the pun) comparison. I am going to compare to Dell to keep it simple. Plus many companies (including my own) use Dell. I have a lot of experience with Dell as well. Also you will see I will show DIY options for the Mac and not the PC. This is because Apple charges you way too much to upgrade components and Dell does not. I would order upgrades from Dell - I would not pay Apple to upgrade stuff like Ram for me. For example $400 for 8GB vs $150 for 8GB to do it myself.

On System Specs
When it comes to laptops most PC people come on here and go - "check it out I can get a core i7 with 500GB and 8GB of RAM for $900 - why would I get a Mac?"

Quick answer - the system specs are only part of the story and let's put that to rest.

I would postulate that the Macbook Pros would be on par with the business line of most PC makers. That means if you are comparing a Macbook Pro with a Dell Inspirion or any other home use consumer line laptop, then the Macbook Pro is wrong for you. You should be looking at the White Macbook. But you say "I cannot get the latest processors (core i5/i7) with anything other than the 15 inch MBP." That is fine but you cannot compare a core i5 consumer laptop with a core i5 15 inch MBP.