Looking toward the future

Reaction score
I am a long time reader, have just recently registered and started posting, etc--

I am a soon to be switcher--and was wondering a few things--

I want a 13" macbook pro, and from everything I've read, it seems that a sandy bridge update is impending...is this accurate? Is this the processor most likely due to replace the core 2 duo in the 13 mbp?

Also--do you think that the prices of ssd will go down significantly in the next 6 months?

I'm hoping to get an updated mbp 13" with an updated processor and ssd--any insight or advice you can give is appreciated.

I'm not in a hurry, but want to make sure that I get what I need.
I have no problem even waiting for Lion to come out, if it is going to offer significant changes--I am not sure if they will update the 13" mbp before then?

I am a teacher, so I work on stuff for my students on my computer. I will be making short videos, and exploring some of the mac tools to integrate into my classroom--I just really want to future proof myself a bit as I tend to keep a computer for a LONG time.

I currently have a Dell Inspiron 710m that was built with maxed specs for that model at the time and still running well after 3 crashes and reinstalls of the os (lol) but I'm ready to start thinking about something new. (thank god for external hard drives)

I can wait as long as I can see an upgrade coming in the future.

I'm sorry this is so long...and thanks for any advice you can give!

Amanda :Confused:

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB
Yes an update is coming. When and what is being updated, we don't know.

C

chas_m

I want a 13" macbook pro, and from everything I've read, it seems that a sandy bridge update is impending...is this accurate? Is this the processor most likely due to replace the core 2 duo in the 13 mbp?