Daft old bird new to Mac needs help

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21.5 iMac. iPhone 3gs. iTouch
Hiya,

I'm totally new to iMac....3 days in and loving it. Have a brand spanking new 21.5 iMac from a 10year old Dell that did it's job but died. Have got iTouch & iPhone 3gs that I just adore and this was the next step to becoming a total Apple household.

Have watched the Apple tutorials & have been reading up on the forum on everything I can on how to get the best from my new beautiful machine.

Have learnt a few basics. I'm getting there slowly.

My magic mouse isn't consistently responsive to left/right swiping( really annoying) and doesn't behave at all to 360º actions on images as in the tutorial videos...... it only moves up & down. I have small delicate fingers - not great bananas so am not at all sure if it's defective.

Any help will be greatly received. Ta

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac * 2.8 Ghz Intel Core i7 * 16GB 1333 Mhz DDR3 * 1TB HD *AMD Radeon HD 6770M 512 MB
Hey there, welcome from another switcher. I don't have a Magic Mouse but was disappointed when I tried it out in the store. It doesn't even has as much functionality as the Mighty Mouse. You might have to set up the mouse preferences in System Preferences. If the System Preferences icon isn't in your dock, you can find it by clicking on the Apple menu at the top left of your screen. In fact, I suggest spending some time there and fine tuning all your preferences until you have your Mac working exactly the way you want.

If you still aren't that wowed by the Magic Mouse, try finding a Mighty Mouse on Amazon or someplace. You don't have to use an Apple Mouse either. You can use just about any mouse you find more useful and comfortable. You might even want to try the new Magic Trackpad.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Dual 1.8ghz G5 5.5gb RAM
I highly recommend this to tweak your magic mouse

C

chas_m