Proud new Mac Owner- needs advice

Reaction score
Hello

I am a regularly gigging musician in South Louisiana and invested in a Macbook Pro to use with a digital live workstation for I have heard Mac is most reliable for use in this environment.

I have been a PC user for all my life at home and at work and rarely had the opportunity to gain experience with a Mac.

I bought a brand new Macbook Pro and it has OS X, and I think maybe Snow Leopard, I am not up on the difference between the two. It also has BootCamp.

Here is what I need to do.

I need to record live performances with the Mac and store them on a LaCie Firewire/USB 2 ext HDD.

And then when back at home transfer the capture and wav files to my PC to use with my very expensive Windows XP Pro based DAW (Digital Audio Workstation)

In other searches I read where this cannot be done on the extHDD if it were formatted to NTFS, only to FAT, or FAT32 which formats out to only 4gb or so. Not a solution for me.

I will have tons of gb of wav files to deal with and I need an easy to use method.

And if formatted to Mac format, the PC will not read it.

These were older posts, and I am wondering if there might be more up to date information regarding this issue.

I would not be opposed to setting up a peer-to-peer network between the PC and the Mac. I am on a router or is there a way to setup an ad-hoc network between PC and Mac?

Thanks for any information.

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
Snow Leopard is the version of OS X you have... 10.6 to be specific.

Your Mac can indeed format a drive of any size to FAT32. FAT32 is not capable of storing individual files of 4GB or larger.

Your case is one of individual file sizes, not the total space the files use.

If you are not dealing with 4GB and larger files, you can use FAT32.