too bad

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21.5", 3.06 GHz intel Core 2 duo, ATI Radeon HD 4670 graphics with 256MB
I hate to say it, but i'm considering going back to a PC. I do like the mac, it works great I like working on it. But I have a few complaints that are just frustrating enough.

Office 2008 works good. I don't have solver in excel and the equation editor for word doesn't work. I did get the solver add-on but it's slow and annoying to use. I still can't get the F4 button to lock a cell when i'm typing in a formula like it does in windows.

I have a number of programs that i'm using for school that only work in windows. Every time I do homework (i'm a chemical engineering student) I always have a virtual box open to run my software.

Basically, a mac just isn't made for engineers. Most of the software is windows only, and it's frustrating. I like the mac, but I do have to use the software that need. I have an imac, and I don't anticipate selling it, but I am going to get a laptop. I was hoping to get a macbook pro but I think I might have to get a pc.

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB
Bootcamp + Windows. Use Mac for everything else that isn't school related.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Back to my old 2.2GHz C2D MB after selling my MBP and wondering what my next Mac will be :)
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Back to my old 2.2GHz C2D MB after selling my MBP and wondering what my next Mac will be :)
Crimson... you got in there while I was reading the post :D

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
1.8 GHz i7 MBA 11" OSX 10.8.2