MobileMe has 'kidnapped' my e-mail account ;-(

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Late '09 iMac; Late '11 MBAir, 2017 iMac from ****!
Hey everyone! I am fairly new to Macs (11 months now....should'a done it years ago) and although I am still behind the Mac curve, I hope the apex is coming into view soon ;-)

I have MobileMe, but rarely use it. About 3 weeks ago, it "kidnapped" my regular e-mail account at bellsouth.net. IOW, all e-mail sent to that account now has to be accessed via MobileMe. I am flummoxed as to how to reverse this. I have used the 'chat with a MobileME advisor' twice in the past week but they haven't been much help. All I want is to have the e-mail sent to my bellsouth account to show up in my bellsouth mailbox...I don't want to have to fire up the MobileMe account to access my daily mails. I also have an iPhone but rarely use it either for accessing e-mail. Could it be linked in with this problem too?

TIA for any advice you may have concerning this... and when it comes time to 're-up' for MobileMe in 70 days, I plan on passing on that option and will remove it (hopefully) from my machine (a late 2009 iMac).

Thanks again!

Pat

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15-inch MacBook Pro
Are you using Mail or the web interface for MobileMe? I have no idea how this is happening unless you set up your BellSouth account to get forwarded to your MobileMe account.

OP
p_rod
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Sorry, mdfuller..I didn't give you enough information in my original post.

I am using the native e-mail proggie that came on the iMac..and no, I have not set up the program to forward my bellsouth mail to Mobile Me (if I did, I did it unaware :) .

I have checked under preferences in the Mail proggie several times and I cannot even find where I can forward mail to another account.

I am sure this difficulty is probably an easy fix, just checking or unchecking a box somewhere...it's just finding that box that is confusing me at this time. :|