Mac-Mini

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" Unibody Macbook Pro, Iphone 4 16G
So I'm new to Mac, but I have a Macbook Pro, I'm looking to get a new computer (desktop) within the next few months. What are the positives and negatives of the mac-mini? It just seems like such an affordable option to a computer. I really don't want to buy some cheap PC piece of junk so if the Mini is a good option I'd like to know. I was just looking at one on Apple's website Refurbished Mac mini 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - Apple Store (U.S.)

Thanks!

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
The Mac Mini is a good option if you're looking for an inexpensive desktop machine which has a fair amount of power. It's small and compact and fits most anywhere a notebook computer would. The drawback of course is that you must supply your own monitor, mouse, and keyboard which adds to the cost if you don't already have them.

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
The new Mac Mini's with their improved processor, memory capacity and HD space are very attractive machines with a LOT of capability. Short of running some VERY intensive applications (I'm thinking heavy video/photo rendering, CAD, and so on) the Mac Mini is totally capable of doing most things very nicely. Additionally, the Mac Mini is very compact and VERY quiet..

Regards

C

chas_m

Really, the Mac mini is an excellent choice in terms of power and ability per $. Apart from not having a dedicated graphics card, it closely matches what until VERY recently was the low-end of the iMac line.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro 13", 4th gen Touch
What are you wanting out of a computer that your MacBook doesn't offer? That is perhaps the best question on which to do some soul-searching before you buy another computer.