Macbook Pro or Ipad

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Imac 21.5 Inch 3.06 GHZ 4GB Ram 500 Gig HD, Ipad 32 GB, Iphone 4S 16 GB.
Hello

This may be a potentially stupid question but please dont flame me as I am completely new to Macs.

I will be purchasing a Imac for home use, an Iphone 4 and want something for mobile use.

I was looking at getting a 32 gig Wi Fi & 3g Ipad but for a little bit more money I can get a Mac Book Pro.

The MPB seems like the better option than the Ipad as it has:-

More space
More processing power
Bigger screen
More flexibility

but it would be quite nice to be able to retain the apps feature of the Ipad/Iphone on the MBP.

Is it possible to use Ipad/Iphone apps on a MBP or would the apps not work?

Does anyone reccomend going for a Ipad instead as so far all my friends I have asked who have Ipads have said they are a waste of money.

Thanks in advance.

Clive

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac's
MBP vs iPad are to different creatures.. If you have the cash, and want the ability to do the same things you can do on the iMac.. the MBP is the way to go.. (or Macbook, or Macbook Air).

Reaction score
I second that. From what I've read, you can't even print from an iPad (if this is wrong, please someone disabuse me).

A MBP is an actual computer. An iPad is just a gadget; trendy and appealing, yes, but still a gadget.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
The iPad (IMHO)...is NOT a computer replacement. You already have an iMac & an iPhone. Really...as far as I know...the only real difference between the iPhone & the iPad is the size of the display (of course you can make phone calls on the iPhone).

If you need a portable/mobile computing device...what tasks are you doing? The iPhone can do anything the iPad can do...and is MUCH more portable (just a smaller display).