Help me get over my fear of iTunes.

Reaction score
Could somebody gently and respectfully help me get over my fear and loathing of iTunes? I'm not a switcher...I love Macs. But I have an iPad and I'm typing this awaiting the arrival of my first iPod touch, and I have little experience managing files on an iPod.

My problem is the fear in my stomach whenever I connect a device to my computer. To me, the most terrifying word in the Mac vocabulary is "Sync." It seems like every time you plug in an iPod or iPad to your computer it threatens you, giving an incredibly ominous message like "Syncing will overwrite all data on both devices, leaving you with no data and bone cancer. Are you sure you want to do this?" How can I tell it, "No, I don't want to overwrite anything at all! Just add the songs. Don't erase anything!"

What if I just want to move some pictures from one computer to another? Can I use my iPod touch to do that? It seems like you should be able to use it as a big flash drive if you want. Why does iTunes have to be so controlling and threatening? I'm really getting fascist vibes from this program.

OK, I'm ranting without having seriously tried to figure out the problem on my own. I thoroughly deserve your sarcasm, but like most igonorant ranters I have a delicate heart...please take it easy on me.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15" 2006 | 2011 21.5in iMac-1tb-i5-12gig | iPhone 3gs
I have no problems "syncing" from my iphone to itunes and vice/versa.... I simply select Don't Sync and select what I want sync'd by checking or unchecking playlists, movies, etc....

It's easy........ to get rid of your fear, you just have to learn more about it and face it head on.

C

chas_m

More than 500 million people use iTunes every day. Maybe 25 have a problem (and we hear about it when they do!). :)

But seriously, the solution to your fear is ... backups. If you have them, you have nothing to fear.

OP
H
Reaction score
Thanks...

Thanks, guys...