Non-mac monitor

Reaction score
I need to buy a macbook pro for college. I'm in my third year, studying international photojournalism. I'm willing to sink in the $$$ for the laptop and software I need, but I'm hesitant about the monitor.

I want a 13" macbook pro with a desktop display to plug into while I'm at home.

As I browse online, I'm finding good-quality monitors for about $500 less that the mac 24" cinema display. Like this one: Buy.com - Samsung 2494SW 24" Widescreen 1080p LCD Monitor - 50,000:1 (DC), 5ms, DVI

My questions:
1) I'm hoping for a fast and easy hookup to the external display. Sit down, plug in, go. Will anything non-mac be a pain, or is it pretty easy?

2) I'm a serious photographer. I'd like to work for National Geographic when I graduate, and I need extremely accurate color on my display. I'm going to be buying a colorimeter to calibrate the screen bi-weekly. I've never used a colorimeter before, and I would love to know if colorimeter software will calibrate a mac computer with a non-mac display flawlessly. Any thoughts on this?

Thanks!
O:)

Reaction score
1) It's pretty easy. You'll figure it out in no time.

2) Color-Sync Utility and Digital Color Meter should fit the bill.

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
Non-Apple monitors should be no problem since the hook up is the with a Mini Displayport to DVI converter..

For good color reproduction, make sure the LCD panel is IPS

Regards

Reaction score
Non-Apple monitors should be no problem since the hook up is the with a Mini Displayport to DVI converter..